Goin’ Down Fast

 

Thailand has become my favorite cycling destination. I still love Europe but Thailand is special. The weather is great, the ocean is often near, the roads are in good repair, the tourist facilities are first rate, the drivers are respectful, the people are friendly and the food is great.  On my last trip, I ventured North to cycle in a hillier region of the country. I was not disappointed.

I enjoy cycling in the hills and mountains. Let’s be clear, I am never going to be mistaken for Marco Pantani or any climber for that matter.  I do however love to descend and the adrenaline rush of flying down the side of mountains with only a few millimeters of rubber connecting me to the earth is worth the pain of hauling my rather large cycling body to the top of any climb.

In the video below, you will see me pass a rider on the way down one of the hills outside Chiang Mai on the road to Bangkok. He was some five minutes ahead of me when I crested the summit. I passed him and waited at the support van when I reached the bottom. When he reached the bottom, he asked if I was afraid of flying off the road. I guess I should be but at this point in life I have more yesterdays than tomorrows.  I want to live them without fear until I fly off the road or reach the end of the highway. Either way I plan to be going down fast.

2 thoughts on “Goin’ Down Fast

  1. Awesome video. I did that same spiceroads tour 3 years ago. That looks like the tail end of the second leg (assuming it’s the same route). My guides were Bottle and Rin. One of the best experiences of my life. Enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

