The Same but a Little Different

The pre-departure package for my Chiang Mai to Bangkok cycling trip has arrived. It is the same as the last pre-departure package from SpiceRoads with the exception of the locations and daily rides. Still it is exciting to know that I will soon be on my way to Thailand. Thinking about the package and my preparation for this trip caused me to remember a scene from Pulp Fiction in which Vincent explains to Jules the little differences between Europe and the US. Like Europe and the US, my preparation for this trip will be the same but with some little differences.

I have cycled much more this year than I did last year. The 2015 Bangkok to Phuket ride followed s series of summer trips and a shoulder injury that significantly reduced my riding time.  I have already cycled more in the first 8 plus months of 2016 than I did in all of 2015. This will make the trip easier and more enjoyable.

You can follow my preparation for the trip, as well as the rides in Thailand, on either Map My Ride (MMR) or Strava.  The MMR link is: www.mapmyride.com/my_home/#user_dashboard

You can find me on Strava at: www.strava.com/athletes/1162948

I also plan to take more photos and videos on this trip. I thought I had taken a huge number of photos but found that I had in fact taken fewer than 300. This may seem like a large number but it hardly touches the beauty and wonder of Thailand.  I did not realize how few photos I had until recently when I put together this media presentation on Bangkok.

I thought I must certainly have more for the entire trip but these were also limited.

This time I am going to aim for at least 750 photos. I will be posting on both Twitter and Instagram if you want to follow along. I also want to try a VLOG. You can check here and on YouTube to see how the VLOG experiment unfolds.

I leave in 14 days. It is going to be a great trip. Like the last one but with some little differences that will make it even better

4 thoughts on “The Same but a Little Different

Leave a Reply

