Travels with Tamara

What kind of blogger goes on a  trip and forgets to take his computer cord? I would rather not answer that question. While I have been MIA, I have also had the chance to take some great photos on Oahu, Hawaii, and Maui. If you follow me on Twitter and/or Instagram then you have seen a few of these. The Hawaiian Islands are simply incredible. From this trip, I also learned that each island seems to have its own character, climate and personality. I cannot wait to go back in May, with Alla. During this trip, I served as a travel companion and guide for Tamara, my 79 year old mother-in-law, who was traveling to see her granddaughter.

I am sure she would have been fine without me but she speaks little English and I thought it might be helpful to travel with her. Our daughter is in the first year of her residency so I also thought it would be helpful to her if I could show grandmother around during the day, take care of shopping and other things that you simply cannot do when you have long days at the hospital. The fact that you can cycle every day in Hawaii never crossed my mind.

Tamara remarked every few days that she could not believe she was on an island in the middle of the Pacific. Hawaii is a wondrous place for any of us to visit but certainly this is even more the case for her. Imagine, if you can, that before coming to Hawaii you had lived through World War II, Stalin, the Cold War, the Cuban Missile Crisis, chronic food shortages, had relatives disappear into the Gulag never to be heard from or spoken of again, the fall of the Soviet Union and the difficult birth of modern Russia.  Hawaii might seem like a dream to you as well.

I will write more about my travels with Tamara later but for now here are a few photos of Tamara rocking the islands.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Travels with Tamara

  1. So glad you had fun together! We have to cherish our old ones while they are with us – and as you point out, they have a wealth of experiences in their backgrounds that make them very enjoyable to share things with them. And what a wonderful place to be!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

