ATL Airport

Packing for Adventure

When I am planning a trip like my upcoming bicycle trip, I like to practice packing. You can compare this version to my earlier list.  If you recall, I want everything to fit into one carryon bag. On departing from Honolulu to Bangkok, I will add a few items, check the bag and carry my essential bicycling items in a backpack. You can see a photo of all the items and the bag below.

Packing for Cycling

I have copied my travel documents and placed those in the folder. I have also saved e-copies in a travel folder in my email. These include: passport; travel insurance; e-ticket receipts; latest flight itinerary, and; hotel reservations.

I have two cycling kits. If the hotels cannot wash these then I will wash one each night. The jerseys, shorts and socks will dry overnight. If space allows then I may add a third kit minus the jersey. Spice Roads gives participants a jersey and a water bottle. The gloves round out the cycle clothing. I will wear my sunglasses on the plane. They make it easier to sleep.

The shoes and pedals, helmet, and saddle are always carryon items. You can generally replace cycle clothing but losing these items could be fatal to the trip. I have added hex wrenches for the saddle and pedals. I probably do not need these but better safe than sorry. The backpack will be used to carry these on the HNL-BKK flight.

I will have three days of clothing plus shorts and shower shoes. Two sets go in the bag and the third is made up of the clothes I will wear on the plane. All the clothing is made of a quick drying fabric or a blend. The pants have zip off legs so they can double as shorts. The true shorts and shower shoes can be worn in the room, the pool or the beach.

My iPhone is my alarm clock, camera, computer and phone. I will bring a converter plug and charger. T-Mobile does not charge for data, texts count data, only for calls. I use Viber and Skype for calls. Smart phones are great!

Not in the photo are my razor, aspirin, toothbrush, eye mask, ear plugs, travel tube of toothpaste, deodorant, and eye glasses. These will fit so I am not concerned about including them at this point. I will add sunscreen, chamois cream, lip balm with sunscreen, toothpaste, and wet wipes in Honolulu. Never leave home without wet wipes.

To make it easier to fit these items, I will roll all of the clothes. Let’s see if it all fits.

Cycling

Ready to GoReady to Go                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  OK! It all fits and I even have some extra space. I am ready for a cold Singha and some hot Pad Thai. Thailand, here I come!

4 thoughts on “Packing for Adventure

  1. You so sound like my husband and brother! Most of us women like to check bags (probably because of toiletries) but I can see that your system is amazing! Have fun on your international ride!

    Like

Leave a Reply

